07.07.14

July 7, 2014 § 1 Comment

This last week in the workshop has been extremely busy. I am currently on a push to deliver orders delayed by the fire and make stock for Potfest in the Pens. I had such an enjoyable time last year at Potfest that I can’t wait to return, less than a month now. And following on from my good fair in Devon recently, I am hoping that my luck continues. But this means having enough stock… I have another week making for orders, then I will be concentrating on Potfest. I am slightly concerned as it hasn’t left much firing time but I’ll do what I can. If you haven’t been to Potfest, it is a clay-lover’s paradise and well worth a visit. As an incentive, if you mention the fact that you read this blog, I’ll give you 10% off any purchase of DSP pots!

So, this is what I have been doing, amongst other things.

handles

handles2

Making mugs.

glazingmix

glazing(blue)

Mixing up larger batches of glaze. The need to buy larger glaze buckets has been an indication of the increasing scale of my pots.

woodash

I’ve been given a small tub of wood ash and I’m excited about trying it out in a glaze.

lisahammondmug

And I have a friend back in the workshop. Actually, not the original friend but a close relation. I broke my treasured Lisa Hammond mug that I used everyday in the workshop and went to Earth and Fire recently in search of replacement. I found one, much to my delight.

 

 

§ One Response to 07.07.14

  • I too am really looking forward to Potfest, though slightly panicky about having enough stock. I have no idea how much to take being a first timer. But, there’s not a lot I can do… we’re away for a fortnight at the end of the week so that’s the end of my making time. Just hoping to squeeze in one last pair of firings on our return.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading 07.07.14 at The Hopeful Potter.

meta