20.05.13

May 20, 2013 § 8 Comments

Well, the train keeps rolling and I can’t apply the brakes yet… Pulse 2013 and Palace Art Fair are over, Saltaire Arts Trail is this coming weekend and The Contemporary Craft Festival in just over two weeks time. The pace is currently a little relentless but I need to maximise the opportunities that these weeks bring.

Pulse was not quite what I expected. The area I was in, Launchpad, was like a mini British Craft Trade Fair (BCTF) with the rest of the hall taken up, pretty much, by more commercial enterprises. Interestingly, it was very southern focused. Almost all of the buyers came from the midlands downwards, with a lot from the home counties and the south coast. This is in marked contrast to The British Craft Trade Fair where the buyers came from all over the UK, including the south.

2013-05-11 18.24.49

I think most makers around me found it to be on the slow side, not an uncommon situation at fairs at the moment with little money about, but I made some really good contacts, took some orders and generally found it to be worth doing. I had promising conversations, including with Piyush Suri about an exciting opportunity in his shop in August, as well as stocking the shop; Petersham Nurseries placed an order, which I’m very much looking forward to delivering; and a well-known shop, which I had sent samples to before the event, came and all-but said the word order (if they do, I will definitely be letting you know…). Having said I found it to be worth doing, at this stage I don’t think I will do it again. I want to apply for Craft, which will be part of Top Drawer and Home at Earl’s Court in January, instead, which I think might be a better time of year. So, I want to do Craft in January and BCTF in April.

BCTF and Pulse both went far better than I could have imagined when I first applied for them. I have orders to fill and fairs to participate in, and I feel that it will not be possible to deliver on these while I am working part-time as an art technician. Therefore, I have decided to make the leap to being a full-time potter! My last day working at the school will be June 13th. It is a daunting prospect and I have mixed emotions about it but the over-riding one, by a country mile, is one of extreme excitement and anticipation.

§ 8 Responses to 20.05.13

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 20.05.13 at The Hopeful Potter.

meta

