18.02.13

February 18, 2013 § 15 Comments

I’ve just realised that it is two years almost to the day since I started writing this blog – my first post was on February 14th 2011. Two years… It’s rather amazing that I’m still going. I decided in a light bulb moment that I wanted to be a potter having not touched clay before. I wanted to make and I wanted to make useful things, so it was a potter or a furniture maker or a tailor. My instinct was with pottery.

It has been so much more rewarding (making pots) than I could ever have imagined. I have learnt so many unexpected things about patience, perseverance, failure, and perfection. I love, properly love, working with my hands, which I had never acknowledged before; there is something so essentially human about it in this essentially inhuman world. The passing of a wheel-thrown pot from maker to user, made by hand to be used by another hand, carries within that gesture a great humanity that can never be realised in the purchase of a machine-made pot. I’ve learnt a lot about practice, that it takes a long time to get something right, and the only way to make it right is to do it again and again and again – a feeling of a lesser failure on top of a lesser failure. I’ve tried to run long before I can walk, which has been quite difficult, but it has provided me with a benchmark, a standard, to aspire to and aim for. This has been a valuable learning tool driving me on, forcing me to learn quickly.

My aim now is to put myself in a position where I am able to continue for another two years and more. This is what the coming year is about, sustainability. So, we shall see how I get on – I shall document it all here.

As you know, I have been developing some mugs – 4 tests came out of the kiln a couple of days ago, of which the mug below was one. They do need some tweaking, as they are too small in size as well as in handle width (difficult to see from the picture), which I will attempt to address this week, but once these issues have been resolved I want to give one away to mark the anniversary of this blog. I will let you know when that happens…

IMG_8804

 

The giveaway is a thank you for your continued support and encouragement in taking time out of your day to read the blog, and to those that leave comments. It really is a very welcome boost.

§ 15 Responses to 18.02.13

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 18.02.13 at The Hopeful Potter.

meta

