05.02.13

February 5, 2013 § 2 Comments

IMG_8732

IMG_8740

I am going to be throwing bowls this week but by the weekend I hope to have mixed up enough of my new glaze samples so that I can glaze these first mugs that came out of the biscuit firing yesterday. That will allow me to kill two birds with one stone: learn about how these mugs function and whether the glaze colours fulfil the promise they held on the test tile on an actual object. I am pleased with the shape of the mugs, though have some initial concerns, such as they might be too small and the handle might not be substantial enough, too narrow, as some of them feel slightly unbalanced. But the test will come on Sunday as I lift one to my lips and sup a hot, milky cup of tea.

§ 2 Responses to 05.02.13

  • Hi David

    I’ve been following your blog for a while now and just thought I’d let you know how much I enjoy it, in fact you are the inspiration behind me writing my own (although I’m not really into the swing of it yet, more of a maker than a writer!)

    I was first drawn to your work through an image on Pinterest, I make a little jug with almost the same shape as yours, I love the simplicity of your pieces, they have real understated beauty.

    As for the latest blog, the new mugs are a triumph! can’t wait to see them glazed.

    Jo

    • Thank you so much for the kind words, Jo; it really means a lot. Your blog has started well… It’s a great thing to do, I really enjoy it. I try and be disciplined about it and blog once a week, although it sometimes doesn’t quite work out like that. Have fun with it…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 05.02.13 at The Hopeful Potter.

meta

