22.10.12

October 22, 2012 § 4 Comments

This last week has been a hectic one, trying to tie up the loose ends for MADE LONDON, as well as move into the new temporary workshop. There’s a kiln firing going in later tonight with the last of the pots for London, then on Wednesday I need to get the image below enlarged, which I will take to London in case I feel the stand needs it. Otherwise, I think/hope I’m ready.

I’m really looking forward to (a little nervous about) London, though it feels like ages since I’ve properly been in the workshop throwing. I have a strong desire to make mugs with handles on, which I really want to get on with making but will have to wait until after Christmas before I can start. I think it will have a similar shape to the jug, wider at the foot and narrowing slightly towards the lip, with a full lip to foot handle. But smallish, like everything I make, maybe 7/8cms high. I’m also desperate to make plates.

It’s sad to be leaving my workshop, although thanks to the totally wonderful East Street Arts, I have found a temporary one just round the corner – another disused shop. Heaven Scent is where I’ll be and it’ll do for the time being.

Having to move out of my workshop has given me a jolt and made me think that, actually, if I want Dove Street Pottery to be a stable business, I need a permanent space to be working in. I can’t be humping my kiln all round town every 6 months and if I did I would soon lose the friends willing to help (it is going to take 4 of us to move the kiln on Wednesday). ‘Timing’ was the first word in my last post and would have been very apt again for this post. The day after the man walked into my workshop telling me that I needed to leave, I was invited to a meeting, maybe a mile for here, regarding some new workshops that were being planned.

They are owned by Q20 Theatre, who said they will be ready in 4 weeks. So, I have reserved one (it will be where the people are standing in the picture). I’m thinking that if I’m in in 6 weeks that would be absolutely fine. The thought of having somewhere that’s mine, as it were, is very reassuring. I’ve now got to get from here to there.

§ 4 Responses to 22.10.12

  • Belinda says:

    I bought some of your beautiful pottery at MadeLondon today, and have just drunk my first cup of tea from one!:) They are such beautiful calm shapes and colours, and a pleasure to use – so glad to have discovered your work and look forward to seeing your plates. Your work totally stood out to me at the show, as well as your ethos, wish your endeavour great success, it deserves it.

  • rosebrands says:

    It was so nice to see your work at Made. Your matt glazes pair beautifully with your classic forms – beautiful and timeless! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 22.10.12 at The Hopeful Potter.

meta

