17.10.12

October 17, 2012 § 2 Comments

Timing – everything is about timing. A man walked into my workshop yesterday and with no introduction told me that he was the new tenant and that I would need to be out in 48 hours! As you can imagine, this came as rather a shock. After some toing and froing, it turns out that I can stay until Wednesday. I leave for MADE LONDON on Thursday.

I knew that this was a possibility, as I am on a short-term let (very short-term), part of a national scheme to put creative people in disused shops. So, I knew that any day I could get a ‘phone call telling me that someone wanted to let the shop. It’s just that the timing could be better, so much better. We are in the run up to the busiest time of the year. I’ve got 5 fairs coming up, including MADE LONDON starting next Friday and the ‘Living North’ Christmas Fair two and a half weeks later. I also need to re-stock three shops, provide pots for a Christmas event at the Bankfield Museum, and fulfil other Christmas orders. Really, the last thing I want to do is pack up my workshop and find another one, but I will have to.

It will all work out in the end – things always do. There is the possibility of moving into a permanent space, which I need to do if Dove Street Pottery is going to have any stability, although it is not ready yet. It may be a few months until it is. There is another disused shop I can move into in the meantime within Shipley, where I currently am. The weekend will be busy but I hope I shall be moved into the new space by next Wednesday. Then pack up the car and off to London.

§ 2 Responses to 17.10.12

  • des gillan says:

    From our chat at the GNCCF whatever comes your way, you will sort it! Great inspiration and keep it up. Good luck with the mayhem. Calm will soon grace Dove Street again and those little pots will start flying out again.

    • Thanks, Des. Calm will, indeed, come again, you are right. I am looking forward to getting settled again, as I have some new pots I would like to work on – mugs, with handles, and plates.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 17.10.12 at The Hopeful Potter.

meta

