19.03.12

March 19, 2012 § 2 Comments

Last Friday, I was in London and had a couple of hours to spare, so hot-footed it over to the V&A and to the ceramics collection on the sixth floor. I went with the specific intention of looking at the wall thickness of pots, in general, and bowl shapes, in particular. If you haven’t been, and can get to London, it is the most amazing resource, although I would like to see the work of more contemporary potters represented. While I was there I discovered that Louisa Taylor is the artist-in-residence (until 24th July); I would liked to have spoken with her but, unfortunately, she wasn’t in her studio.

Louisa Taylor’s pots at the V&A

My reason for wanting to investigate wall thicknesses was because of an anecdote that Jim Malone told in the Goldmark video (in the ‘Video’ links on the right) about weight. He recounted how at college all the potters seemed to be obsessed by how much a pot weighed. He believed this to be a legacy from all the industrial pots, which were ‘thin and light and white’. He read somewhere about an exhibition Hamada had and his friend, Yanagi, picked up one of his pots and said that he thought it was heavy. Hamada replied, ‘better too heavy than too light’.

The question I have been asking myself is, ‘what is too heavy?’

     From Iran, I think…

Korea

China

Michael Cardew

The other thing I was looking at was bowl shape. I love the eastern aesthetic – simple, minimal adornment (incision, fluting), beautiful lines. Every bowl had a foot-ring, however small the bowl or the ring; the colours understated; the lines so clean, creating elegant profiles.

Korea

Matsubayashi Tsurunosoke

Shoji Hamada

These are total simplicity, the absolute essence of a bowl – there is nothing that could be taken away.

§ 2 Responses to 19.03.12

  • Joseph says:

    I have watched the Jim Malone video many times and it is a very interesting question to ask. It is something I have thought about a lot especially concerning anything I had reduction fired. I am yet to come up with my own conclusion.

    I have been accused many times of having pots that are too heavy, especially when the large platters, but I don’t see any way of reducing weight neither do I want to, to me they feel firm solid and just right with a good balance.

    The only way to really tell is feel as many pots as you can by as many different makers. My favourite mug is chunky, it has quite a bit of weight behind it and after using it a lot since I bought it in September. IT was made by Svend Bayer and the colours are very understated, Celadon inside and merely the ash forming its own glaze from the anagama on the outside.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 19.03.12 at The Hopeful Potter.

meta

