10.10.11

October 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

What a busy day it was on Saturday at The Shipley Alternative. The Kirkgate Centre, where it was held, had clearly done their marketing well because it was buzzing all day. There was a nice mix of stalls and some lovely homemade food.

There is a strong craft scene here and a supportive and friendly environment. It was particularly fruitful talking with people and hearing what they had to say about my pots. Simple, functional, domestic ware for people to use everyday without being precious about it is what I want to make and I was encouraged to see that people responded well. And I had some sales, which is always bolstering. As it was my first event, I had intentionally limited what I produced, so that it was achievable, and I’m pleased that I did.

But I realized that if I want people to buy multiples – sets of bowls, sets of beakers – I will need to produce much more stock. I’m excited to be having a table at the CND Peace and Crafts Fair, in Saltaire, on November 19th, and I am bearing this very much in mind. I am also intending to extend my range by adding three more items: a milk jug, a larger ‘noodle’ bowl and a small mixing bowl with a spout.

I am in the process of writing down my stock needs for November and transferring this into a throwing, glazing and firing schedule; and I’m looking forward to getting into the workshop on Wednesday to get back at my wheel.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 10.10.11 at The Hopeful Potter.

meta

