19.09.11

September 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s been a while since I last blogged and two exciting things have happened in the meantime. The first is the delivery of a small kiln, courtesy of Northern Kilns. It has been good to spend a few months throwing without the pressure of keeping very much, cutting pots in half, reclaiming clay, getting a feel for the material itself. But there is so much more to learn, for which I need a kiln. Adrian and Dylan at Northern Kilns have been fantastic and I am very grateful to them for their support.

Having the kiln has allowed me to apply for the second piece of summer excitement: my first selling event. It is on the 8th October (which I’m sure is verging on the autumnal…) in Shipley, north of Bradford.

It’s going to be a lovely local event. It is, though, a whole different experience preparing for an event than sitting in my workshop throwing to no particular end. Up until now, I have just kept those pots that I was happy with, which amounted to half a dozen to a dozen. I now have to throw a dozen or more of rough equal shape and size. It is trying to raise the quality of the ‘average’ throw to get the maximum number of good pots from a batch. I think I must have thrown 60 or more beakers to get the 24 I need. I have in my head a (perfect?) template to which I am throwing and the struggle is to throw anything approaching it. I am beginning to throw to a gauge and that is a fantastic discipline.

 

Under three weeks to go to the event and the beakers are drying out waiting to go in the kiln to be biscuit fired. The kiln is going to be working overtime between now and the first week in October.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 19.09.11 at The Hopeful Potter.

meta

